Archived

This forum has been archived. Please start a new discussion on GitHub.

Add methods to a Java sample ????

Hello,

sorry but I'm a absolut Java ICE beginner.
E.g. demoj\book\printer
The printer example:
How is it possible to add a method getDate()
like the existing printString("Hello World!") method to all files.

I'v added but I've got an error by compiling it with the existing ant script:
compile:
    [mkdir] Created dir: C:\Ice-2.1.2\demoj\book\printer\classes
    [javac] Compiling 11 source files to C:\Ice-2.1.2\demoj\book\printer\classes

[javac] Compiling 14 source files to C:\Ice-2.1.2\demoj\book\printer\classes

[javac] C:\Ice-2.1.2\demoj\book\printer\Client.java:28: cannot find symbol
    [javac] symbol  : method getDate(java.lang.String)
    [javac] location: interface Demo.PrinterPrx
    [javac]         printer.getDate("Test");
    [javac]                ^
    [javac] 1 error

BUILD FAILED
C:\Ice-2.1.2\demoj\book\printer\build.xml:47: Compile failed; see the compiler error output for details.

Please could somebody explain in short words what are the main things to look at.

Thank you very much !!!!
surfer

Comments

• dwayne
    dwayne St. John's, Newfoundland
    Hi,

You should only need to add the new method to the Printer interface slice definition in Printer.ice and the java implementation of the method in PrinterI.java.

Regards,
    Dwayne
  • How can the client invoke the method?

Hi and thanks but how invokes the client the method?

That's my Client changes:
    printer.printString("Hello World!");
    printer.getDate("Test");

that's my Printerl changes:
    public class PrinterI extends Demo._PrinterDisp {
        public void
        printString(String s, Ice.Current current)
        {
            System.out.println(s);
        }

public void
        getDate(String st,Ice.Current current)
        {
    	System.out.println(st);
        }

}

that's my Printer.ice changes:
    interface Printer
        {