Archived

This forum has been archived. Please start a new discussion on GitHub.

IcePatch2-Server adding new functionality

Hello, guys. I'm quite new to the all Ice stuff, so maybe my question is trivial but nevertheless:) I was going to add new functionality to IcePatch2. I implemented it that way, that every time the icepatch2client starts it calls a routine on the server side. For example the routine writes "Triggered" on the server side.

I have written a normal slice declaration for this procedure "myTriggerFilesUpdate", compiled it with slice2cpp. I have writen the implementation of the procedure like it is desrcibed in the introductory example in the documentation (the "hello world" programm). Then I integrated the code into the code of the Server.cpp.

So I added the following lines to the Server.cpp:

using namespace ServerCallHandle;
class OnRequestI: public OnRequest{
public:
virtual void myTriggerFilesUpdate(const Ice::Current&);
};

void OnRequestI::myTriggerFilesUpdate(const Ice::Current&){
cout<<"Triggered\n";
}

It compiled and linked fine. But as I wanted to start the icepatch2server I got the following message:
../icepatch2server: relocation error: ../icepatch2server: undefined symbol: _ZTIN16ServerCallHandle9OnRequestE

So what's wrong? Any idea? Would appreciate any help:)

Comments

• bernard
    bernard Jupiter, FL
    It sounds like you forgot to implement a function, or link the corresponding .o with your modified icepatch2server.

However on RHEL 4:

$ c++filt _ZTIN16ServerCallHandle9OnRequestE
    typeinfo for ServerCallHandle::OnRequest

So check you compiler flags and make sure you did not disable RTTI.

Cheers,
    Bernard
  • Thanks

Hey, thank you. The problem was with the Makefile, I had to paste in the pathes to my new created files. After I did that, it worked.