Archived

This forum has been archived. Please start a new discussion on GitHub.

out parameter with non basic type

Hello,

I'm new to ice. I have problem (run time error on the server) with the use of out parameter with non basic data type. This one is work fine :

interface Hello
{
void sayHello(out string); // out parameter with basic data type
};

but this is not :

interface Hello
{
void sayHello(out SequenceOfSomething); // out parameter with non basic data type
};

Is there any special treatment for out parameter with non basic type ?. I've tried to search this on the demo sample but can't find it.

Thanks in advance for your help,
regards,
solikhin

Comments

• It's impossible to help you without known what language you are using. Can you post the code that causes the problem? Also, if you look at language mapping chapter in the manual for your language, you should find the information you need there.

Cheers,

Michi.
  • Thanks for your quick reply,

I'm using C++.
    Unintentionally, I seem to have solved the problem. Calling the servant with uninitialized variables seem to solve the problem (actually I'm not 100% sure because I'm a newbie, but in my case the problem disappear and I get the expected result / value).

Here is the original client code :

SequenceOfSomething tmpSomething(someSize); // I determined the size here
    ObjProxy->sayHello(tmpSomething);

Here is the modified client code :

SequenceOfSomething tmpSomething; // I remove the size here
    ObjProxy->sayHello(tmpSomething);

Is this the correct way on doing this thing ?.
  • matthew
    matthew NL, Canada
    I tried to duplicate this problem with the hello world demo (demo/Ice/hello) and could not reproduce it. I don't think this can be the reason for the initial failure, you must have had some other issue.