Archived

This forum has been archived. Please start a new discussion on GitHub.

Building both C++98 and C++11 libraries

I am very new to building ICE from scratch on linux machines. I am trying to build both libraries of ice >=3.7 and 3.5.1 but am running into compilation issues.

First, I have not been able to find appropriate compilation instructions anywhere. It is not clear how to compile both versions other than editing the config/Make.rules to point to the appropriate install directories, only select cpp and run

make 
make install 
make clean
make CXXFLAGS=-DICE_CPP11_MAPPING
make install 

However, this seems a terrible way of building these libraries. Is there not something I can set in the config/Make.rules or provide to make so both are built? Something along the lines of

make cpp_types=(CPP98 CPP11)

Is there useful documentation somewhere?

Second, in trying to compiling 3.7.4 and 3.7.2 and 3.5.1 with -DICE_CPP11_MAPPING I am running into a whole host of bugs in the code.

>=3.7

For example in 3.7.4

Compiling [amd64-static] src/slice2js/Gen.cpp
src/slice2js/Gen.cpp: In constructor ‘Slice::Gen::Gen(const string&, const std::vector<std::__cxx11::basic_string<char> >&, const string&, bool)’:
src/slice2js/Gen.cpp:638:57: error: invalid cast to abstract class type ‘Slice::FileException’
  638 |         throw FileException(__FILE__, __LINE__, os.str());
      |                                                         ^
In file included from src/slice2js/Gen.cpp:12:
src/Slice/FileTracker.h:14:7: note:   because the following virtual functions are pure within ‘Slice::FileException’:
   14 | class FileException : public ::IceUtil::Exception
      |       ^~~~~~~~~~~~~
In file included from include/IceUtil/Handle.h:8,
                 from src/Slice/Parser.h:9,
                 from src/slice2js/JsUtil.h:8,
                 from src/slice2js/Gen.h:8,
                 from src/slice2js/Gen.cpp:8: