Archived

This forum has been archived. Please start a new discussion on GitHub.

Proper use of ICEStorm - help needed

Hi everyone,

I'm new to ICE and I just need some clarification. I'm writing a small program which has 1 server and 2 clients (client A and client B). The server tracks the state of both clients and has to notify the state of client A to B and vice-versa. Any change in state in client A will be sent to the server and any change in state in client B will also be sent to the server. It is the server's responibility to update all clients of each others state. My implementation will be in C#.

From reading the docs ICEStorm is seems to be an implementation of the publisher/subscriber paradigm. On a periodic basis the publisher will update it's subscribers with "network events" you could say. Am I correct to say that for a scenario like mine ICEStorm would be ideal to use? Are there any strategies/considerations I should take note of if I'm to use ICEStorm? Or can I do this without ICEStorm? Any help is very much appreciated.

Thanks

John

Comments

• mes
    mes California
    Hi John,

You could certainly implement this functionality directly in your server. If your configuration is fairly static (e.g., there will always be two clients and one server), then incorporating IceStorm may not offer any significant advantages. However, if the number of publishers or subscribers may vary, or if you need the notion of multiple topics, then IceStorm may be appropriate.

Take care,
    - Mark
  • Thanks Mark,