Archived

This forum has been archived. Please start a new discussion on GitHub.

Compile error on Icebox

Hello.

I get the following compile errors. Unfortunately, Im primarily a VB programmer (my C++ hull is covered with barnacles) so I think Im way over my head. :P
making all in IceBox
make[2]: Entering directory `/home/amrufon/projects/Ice-1.0.1/src/IceBox'
rm -f ../../bin/icebox
c++ -L../../lib -o ../../bin/icebox ServiceManagerI.o Server.o -lIceBox -lFreeze -lIceXML -lIce -ldl -lbz2 -lIceUtil -lpthread -luuid  -ldb\
../../lib/libIce.so: undefined reference to `h_errno'
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make[2]: *** [../../bin/icebox] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/amrufon/projects/Ice-1.0.1/src/IceBox'
make[1]: *** [all] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/amrufon/projects/Ice-1.0.1/src'
make: *** [all] Error 1

Im using a Mandrake 9.1 Download Edition with GCC 3.2.2. I was able to compile and install the all the listed dependencies for Linux.

Thanks for the help in advance. :D

Alex

Comments

• marc
    marc Florida
    I had the same problem with Redhat 9. To fix this, please remove the following code from include/Ice/Config.h:
    extern int h_errno;

Apparently with the new NPTL (New Posix Thread Library), this is now a macro.

Note that in order to run Ice apps, you must also use:
    export LD_ASSUME_KERNEL=2.4.1

This ensures that the NPTL is not used, but the old threads instead. We checked our code over and over again, and we are very certain that there is no problem with how we use posix threads (it also runs on Sun w/ native posix threads). However, the problem is very hard to isloate, therefore we couldn't submit a bug report to the NPTL developers. But we keep digging.
  • Hello Marc,

Thanks for the help. :D