Archived

This forum has been archived. Please start a new discussion on GitHub.

client creating objects

Hello,
I am a CORBA newbie. Firstly i transited to Ice recently after some frustrations with other open source CORBA implementations. I could get basic \demo\Ice\Hello\ examples working well.
So, referring to "demo\Ice\Hello" example, it seems like the client can only access an existing object at the server by getting a proxyString. I extended this so that this server object can create more objects and return strings to the client on the same adapter.
My question is, is this how the client can create new objects or is there a known way that most experts use. Once again, the question is " how does the client create new objects at the server dynamically without referring to it in the configuration file".

thanks
bks

Comments

• Use the factory pattern. Make an object that has a create method and that returns a proxy to the newly created object. The operation implementation instantiates a new servant, adds it to the ASM, and returns the proxy. In Slice, something like
    interface Widget {
        // ...
    };

interface WidgetFactory {
        Widget* create(/* params here */);
    };

The create implementation would do something like
    WidgetPrx
    WidgetFactoryI::create(/* ... */, const Ice::Current& c)
    {
        WidgetPtr p = new WidgetI(/* */);
        return WidgetPrx::uncheckedCast(c.adapter.addWithUUID(p));
    }

The client simply calls create() to create a new object and receive its proxy.

Cheers,

Michi.
  • Michi,
    thanks that helped. As an extension to the above discussion, what is the appropriate way for the client to destroy this object.