Archived

This forum has been archived. Please start a new discussion on GitHub.

NAT traversal

Hi all,
I'm new to ICE and have an embedded app running on an ARM9 running Linux. I downloaded IceE, made some simple mods and got it compiled for ARM, and it runs great. Good work guys! :)

My embedded app (ICE server) is sitting behind a NAT router and needs to be accessed from the Internet. My understanding is that I have 2 choices to traverse the NAT:
1) Replace my NAT router with a machine that has a public and private NIC and uses Glacier2 as the new NAT.
2) Or put Glacier2 behind my NAT router and open up (forward) a port from my NAT router to the machine that is running Glacier2. Glacier2 will then act as a "connection multiplexer" through the forwarded port.

Both of these choices require that the user have a fair amount of expertise -- (1) more so than (2), but with (2), the user still has to figure out how to enable port forwarding on their router.

I've been exploring a third option -- implementing a UPnP client to automatically open up the necessary ports on the router. Supposedly, all NAT routers shipped after 2002 implement UPnP (such as Netgear, Linksys, D-link, etc). I haven't seen any discussion about UPnP on this forum and was wondering why. UPnP is supposedly "consumer friendly" -- the other approaches are not so friendly. Does anyone have any thoughts on the UPnP approach?

Thanks,
--rich

Comments

• We looked into UPnP, but we had very limited success so far with our current set of routers. We will investigate this again with newer routers, but I can't give you any time schedule yet. (If you have a commercial need for this feature, please contact us at info@zeroc.com.)