Archived

This forum has been archived. Please start a new discussion on GitHub.

Gauging interest: Visual Studio custom tool for Slice files

Hello all -

I've been working with Ice for several months now, we use it to communicate between C++ data servers and C# client apps. On the C# side, most of us use Visual Studio 2003 to do our development. We have a project, call it IceClient, that encapsulates the classes generated by slice2cs, and the rest of our projects contain a reference to the IceClient project.

The problem (as I see it) with this setup is the way that we use slice2cs in the IceClient project: a pre-build step is used to call slice2cs on our Slice files. This has the unfortunate side-effect of rebuilding the C# files each time, which causes the IceClient project to have to rebuild itself each time, which causes all projects that are dependent on IceClient to rebuild...it's a time-consumer.

To fix that, I've written a custom tool for VS 2003 that understands how to handle Slice files. The Slice file is included in the project, its "Custom Tool" property is set to "vsSlice" (the name of the tool), and the problem is solved: VS now knows enough to only regenerate the C# when the interface file has changed, which means that the cascading rebuilds don't happen and overall compile time is usually sped up.

What I'm wondering now: Would anyone else be interested in this tool for their own use? I've found it pretty handy, and I'd like to share it if there's interest -- plus, other people using it will allow me to test it outside of our own build environment, always a good thing ;)

(mods, if this thread would be better served in another forum, please move)

Comments

• Feel free to post any tools you want to share here.