Archived

This forum has been archived. Please start a new discussion on GitHub.

ICE vs. XPCOM for application development?

I am somewhat new to component-based programming, but have been using ICE through the ORCA library for a robotics control application.

We have started a new project which will be a single-computer application with a component interface for user contributed extensions. We are in the early design stages and currently trying to find the best library to handle the component interface. It must be open-source and cross platform, which narrows the choices to ICE and XPCOM (only ones I could find). XPCOM is "tailored toward providing modular component support at the application level". However, it appears as if using XPCOM outside of the Mozilla framework will be a royal pain (we are not developing a browser-based application). Then there is ICE which does not suffer from a browser heritage, yet its strength seems to be in distributed computing.

I have browsed the code snippets in the newsletters and it looks as if ICE would be fairly easy to embed in our application. But am I overlooking anything? Am I attacking this problem with sledgehammer or is ICE the better canidate vesus XPCOM.

Comments

• bernard
    bernard Jupiter, FL
    Hi J.D.,

It's the first time I hear about XPCOM; from a quick look at the introduction, it looks like a fairly old, COM-like technlogy. If Ice is not suitable for your project, I suspect that .NET (the successor of COM/DCOM etc) would be a better choice than XPCOM.

Cheers,
    Bernard
  • First up, from your description, it certainly looks like Ice would be good choice for what you want to do. It's easy to use, and whether your components communicate among different machines, are in different processes on a single machine, or are in the same process makes no difference to Ice--the code is the same, and Ice figures out where each component is and how to reach it. It would definitely not be overkill for your situation.