Archived

This forum has been archived. Please start a new discussion on GitHub.

IceStorm Just the Basics

Hello!

I am new to Ice and would like to ask some basic questions about IceStorm. The IceStorm producer/subscriber model is exactly what I am looking for a sampling application I am investigating.

1) Is the natural implementation model of an IceStorm service "one shared library for each service"? Can a single .so implement several services?

2) Can a producer be configured, or programmed, not to run if there are no subscribers? I don't want to sample data on the server if no one is interested.

3) If I want to produce topic messages (sample data) at different rates for different subscribers, must I create (simplistically) a "fast" topic and a "slow" topic?

4) Is it possible for a client to create a server-side object instance and then have that instance run as an IceStorm service? Suppose I want fine, client-side control of what the server producer actually does?

Phil

Comments

• matthew
    matthew NL, Canada
    1) Is the natural implementation model of an IceStorm service "one shared library for each service"? Can a single .so implement several services?

The IceStorm service is is placed in single shared library which is then hosted by an IceBox container. If you yourself write IceBox services then you can bundle them however you like. I don't see a particular advantage, however, in putting more than one service in a single shared library. I do see lots of disadvantages tho.
    2) Can a producer be configured, or programmed, not to run if there are no subscribers? I don't want to sample data on the server if no one is interested.

This is not possible. Suppliers are entirely decoupled from producers and one is not aware of the other.
    3) If I want to produce topic messages (sample data) at different rates for different subscribers, must I create (simplistically) a "fast" topic and a "slow" topic?