Archived

This forum has been archived. Please start a new discussion on GitHub.

ThreadPools and Concurrency

Hello,

I am a novice with ice and had a few questions related to Server side ThreadPools.

I can see that one can increase the size of the Server ThreadPool so that multiple clients can connect at once and get serviced by the server however, looking at the CPU utilization on my 4-core machine, I only see one CPU pegged. The server performs a long running calculation and returns a number back to the client hence I would have expected all of the CPUs to be fully pegged but it does not appear to be the case. I don't have any locking going on in my server side code as all the variables are local variables to the serverside method.

As a FYI, my environment consists of Mac OS X Leopard running on a 4-Core Mac Pro and I use Ice-3.2.1 with a re-compiled version of IcePy (the default version of IcePy does not work on Leopard).

Thanks,

S.r.

Comments

• benoit
    benoit Rennes, France
    Hi,

It should indeed use multiple threads if you configure the server with multiple threads, for example, with the Ice.ThreadPool.Server.Size=4 configuration property.

To try this out, you can modify the hello word demo (from the demo/Ice/hello directory) by changing the implementation of the sayHello method to loop for a large number of iterations and start the server with --Ice.ThreadPool.Server.Size=4. If you launch multiple clients to invoke the sayHello method, the server should use up to 4 threads (I tried this on a MacBook Pro with Mac OS X 10.5.1 and it worked as expected).

Cheers,
    Benoit.
  • Thank you Benoit for the prompt response.

Indeed, I set the threadpool size using the configuration item and it does look like the threads are getting allocated properly. For instance, the server is processing multiple clients at once.