Archived

This forum has been archived. Please start a new discussion on GitHub.

Bidirectional vs. Callback

Hi there,

I am relatively new to ICE, so please bear with me.
I checked all your examples located under /demo/ice and I have to state that they are couple of things I am still not clear about.
They are as follows:
1. In case of a bidirectional invocation, you implement servant as a Thread (run() method is provided), but in case of a Callback such thread does not exist. Why?
2. In one of the postings regarding bidirectional invocation you mentioned and I quote "...A better solution would be to modify the CallbackSenderI::run() method implementation to not lock the mutex while invoking on the callback receiver proxy" . Would you mind giving an example of that?
3. I am having a problem with bidirectional implementation where calls are dispatched to the wrong clients. Well, I have to say that the initial implementation was synchronous and it worked fine. Later we decided to switch to bidirectional mode (due to firewall considerations) and we adjusted the source code accordingly to get Receiver's proxy via Identity, but no further modifications have been made. Are we doing something wrong?

Comments

• benoit
    benoit Rennes, France
    Hi,
    vit wrote: »
    Hi there,

I am relatively new to ICE, so please bear with me.
    I checked all your examples located under /demo/ice and I have to state that they are couple of things I am still not clear about.
    They are as follows:
    1. In case of a bidirectional invocation, you implement servant as a Thread (run() method is provided), but in case of a Callback such thread does not exist. Why?

There are no particular reasons other than it's not the same demo :).

There are no technical reasons that would prevent implementing the callback demo using bi-directional connections (and without a special callback sender thread).