Archived

This forum has been archived. Please start a new discussion on GitHub.

Ice E beginners problem

Hi.

I have some small beginners problems running IceE programs on a Gumstix with buildroot, I hope someone in here can help me!? I'm building my projects in Ubuntu 8.10 and I have Ice E 1.2.0. I'm quite new to Linux and a totally beginner in Ice-programming.

I finally got the Ice E demos and tests working on the Gumstix and on Ubuntu, but only when I run the server and client on the same computer. My problem is that when I try to run the ,hello demo or minimal demo, server on Ubuntu and the client on the Gumstix, I get this error:

../../src/IceE/Network.cpp:600: Ice::ConnectionRefusedException:
connection refused: Connection refused

This is my first and biggest problem but there is more ;)

How do I compile my own Ice E programs? Is there a guide or something to programming and compiling Ice E?
At the Ice E download page it says to use the Ice documentation but I can't figure out how to compile Ice E programs? I tried to get something together by combining something from the Ice documentation and the makefiles that comes with Ice E but I only got it to compile the program the linking failed, so I'm doing something wrong. The errors I get has something to do with undefined reference to Ice::Object... and I can see from the makefiles that it might have something to do with linking something before compiling but I can't figure out exactly what to do?
In the Ice documentation for writing an Ice Application with C++ the slice2cpp is used to create Printer.h and Printer.cpp and I figured that I should use slice2cppe on my Ice E program, but I can't see that the makefiles is using slice2cppe anywhere, so should I use slice2cppe or not?

First I used slice2cppe on my Hello.ice file and I got the Hello.o file, then I compiled my client program like this:
arm-linux-c++ -c -I. -I/opt/IceE-1.2.0/include Hello.cpp Client.cpp