Archived

This forum has been archived. Please start a new discussion on GitHub.

Convert to IceGrid/IceRegistry

Hi there,

I am relatively new in using Ice and currently using Ice3.3.0 on Windows .Net/C#.

My project was started with a simple Ice application on a standalone server using IceApplication. As time goes by, more and more clients are going to connect to this server to get served and so I had installed another server with the same copy of Ice service and then MANUALLY allocate what clients to use which server as primary and which is backup. And now, I have totally 8 servers with more than 40 clients. Since all servers are identical and the purpose of them is to balance the loading and in case of failure, a backup server can help. It sounds like a IceGrid is a better approach. Do I need to rewrite the Ice application to IceGrid? Or there is a few steps to convert it?

Thanks
Alex

Comments

• It depends on how you have written your application. The main point for IceGrid is that your server must create indirect proxies, and your clients must use indirect proxies. If you have hard-wired the endpoints in your server by calling createAdapterWithEndpoints, you will need to change that. Similarly, if your clients hard-wire proxies with endpoints, you need to change them to use indirect proxies instead.

Other than that, using IceGrid only requires you to set the locator (Ice.Default.Locator property) and make sure that the server uses the correct adapter configuration (<adapter>.AdapterId and <adapter>.Endpoints properties.)

Have a look at the IceGrid chapter in the manual for more detail.

You may also find the article Teach Yourself IceGrid in 10 Minutes useful to get started.

Cheers,

Michi.
  • Thank you for your reply.

I tried to use IceGridRegistry and it works nice but I have an issue to resolve.

Thanks
    Alex

Setup:

Use Hello sample as the server with the following config files

[Config.Registry]

# The IceGrid locator proxy.
    #