Archived

This forum has been archived. Please start a new discussion on GitHub.

about slice2freeze

hi dears
I am an Ice beginner and learning Freeze Map , working it in Ice3.3.0 WinXP and VC90. I got a problem when I tried to execute cmd as follows:

slice2freeze -I$(ICE_HOME)/slice/ --dict IdentityNodeMap,Ice::Identity,Filesystem::PersistentNode IdentityNodeMap Filesystem.ice $(ICE_HOME)/slice/Ice/Identity.ice

slice2freeze warned that "cannot open ‘$(ICE_HOME)/slice/Ice/Identity.ice’for reading"

Then I moved Identity.ice to current dir and tried to change “$(ICE_HOME)/slice/Ice/Identity.ice” to "Identity.ice", this time Slice2freeze warned that "'Ice' prefix is reserved" (which is in Identity.ice)

So I got dead corner and turn to your generous help, thank you in advance

Comments

• P.S what if adding the "--ice" parameter ,that would work but will it be alright when compiling the project ?
  • matthew
    matthew NL, Canada
    hi dears
    I am an Ice beginner and learning Freeze Map , working it in Ice3.3.0 WinXP and VC90. I got a problem when I tried to execute cmd as follows:

slice2freeze -I$(ICE_HOME)/slice/ --dict IdentityNodeMap,Ice::Identity,Filesystem::Persiste ntNode IdentityNodeMap Filesystem.ice $(ICE_HOME)/slice/Ice/Identity.ice

slice2freeze warned that "cannot open ‘$(ICE_HOME)/slice/Ice/Identity.ice’for reading"

There is no need to copy Identity.ice. Your problem is that ICE_HOME is not correctly defined in your build file, and therefore the the slice file cannot be located. Adding something like this to your Makefile

ICE_HOME = c:\Ice-3.3.0

should fix the issue.
    Then I moved Identity.ice to current dir and tried to change
    “$(ICE_HOME)/slice/Ice/Identity.ice” to "Identity.ice", this time Slice2freeze warned that "'Ice' prefix is reserved" (which is in Identity.ice)

So I got dead corner and turn to your generous help, thank you in advance