Archived

This forum has been archived. Please start a new discussion on GitHub.

ObjectAdapter.add - adding servants from an other processes scope

Hi.

My problem is that I want to register servants from several, distinct process scopes. But still the administration should be done by one defined ObjectAdapter. Thus, I'm trying to use Ice's RPC technique to make this ObjectAdapter accessible for clients which are not in the same process.
BUT ... when I try to add the ObjectAdapter like this:

/*Adding mObjectAdapter to make it available for clients outside this process' scope: */
myAdapter.add(mObjectAdapter, communicator().stringToIdentity("ServerAdapter") );

I get an error which says that the add(Object, Identity) method is not applicable for the argument ObjectAdapter (see the first argument).

Since I'm a newbie to Ice I would appreciate any hint how to fix this or how else my enterprise could be done.

Regards,
Patrick

p.s.:
Or in other words you could say I want to make an object instance available for RPC whereby the objects class (which therefore could be accounted as the servant) is already existing. So how can I create an Ice interface for an already existing object type (in this case Ice.ObjectAdapter)?

Comments

• matthew
    matthew NL, Canada
    You would need to write an interface that you would then use to wrap the object adapter. We've done similar things actually in the Ice test suite... for an example, check out cpp/test/Ice/binding/Test.ice.
  • Thanks Matthew.

I hoped for a given definition I could use but ok, I will write a small wrapper interface.

Therefore I have one more question:

In my small Ice definition I use one parameter which is of the type "Object". This type is not included in the basic slice types list. Also I can not find any Ice definition of that. Why is that? Is it a basic type and just not within the list?

Regards and thanks for answering that fast.
    Patrick