Archived

This forum has been archived. Please start a new discussion on GitHub.

getting started with java ice using eclipse

Hi

I am very new to this ICE. I just installed ICE eclipse plugin in in eclipse, can any body tell me where can i find the basic document to get start with ICE communication with java.

Comments

• matthew
    matthew NL, Canada
    Did you watch the "Ice in 20 minutes" screencast? You should also read the basics in the Ice manual , look at the Ice demos, read over our newsletter articles, and post any specific questions you might have to this forum.
  • Hi

The video is really very helpfull, Thanks a lot for making it very simple.

I have installed ice for visual studio 2008 , and I added eclipse plugin to my IDE

and I tried Helloworld program (follow the same instructions mentioned in video)
    But when I run the server its giving error (I know def I missied some thing)

Server: Ice.SocketException
    error = 0
    Ice.SocketException
    error = 0
    at IceInternal.Network.doBind(Network.java:262)
    at IceInternal.TcpAcceptor.<init>(TcpAcceptor.java:109)
    at IceInternal.TcpEndpointI.acceptor(TcpEndpointI.java:381)
    at IceInternal.IncomingConnectionFactory.<init>(IncomingConnectionFactory.java:449)
    at Ice.ObjectAdapterI.<init>(ObjectAdapterI.java:906)
    at IceInternal.ObjectAdapterFactory.createObjectAdapter(ObjectAdapterFactory.java:183)
    at Ice.CommunicatorI.createObjectAdapterWithEndpoints(CommunicatorI.java:77)
    at Server.run(Server.java:27)
    at Ice.Application.main(Application.java:116)
    at Ice.Application.main(Application.java:37)
    at Server.main(Server.java:21)
    Caused by: java.net.BindException: Address already in use: bind
    at sun.nio.ch.Net.bind(Native Method)
    at sun.nio.ch.ServerSocketChannelImpl.bind(Unknown Source)
    at sun.nio.ch.ServerSocketAdaptor.bind(Unknown Source)
    at IceInternal.Network.doBind(Network.java:256)
    ... 10 more

can any body suggest me?