Archived

This forum has been archived. Please start a new discussion on GitHub.

How to use the built-in database connection?

I read eric.hill's reply on http://www.zeroc.com/forums/help-center/2880-where-do-new-developers-start.html. This is the solution I have found ever,but I'm a newbie on Ice and OTL, I want to know the details how to use the Ice built-in thread pool instead of creating my own thread pool for database connections. Can anyone give me some code snippet or a demo project?

I very appreciate for it.

Comments

• matthew
    matthew NL, Canada
    The Ice built in thread pool is not a general purpose thread pool. It is used for dispatching requests on servants, AMI callbacks and AMD invocations. I'm afraid that if you need a thread pool for your database connections, you'll need to do that yourself.
  • If I create servant evictor to access database directly and not use database connection pool, is it feasible?
  • benoit
    benoit Rennes, France
    Hi,

You can implement a servant locator like the Freeze evictor that uses OTL instead. The calls on the servant locator will be dispatched from threads of the Ice thread pool.

If OTL database connections can't be used concurrently by multiple threads (which is likely) you will have to either implement a pool of database connections (if this isn't already provided by OTL) or setup one database connection per thread (you can use the Ice::ThreadHook callbacks for this purpose, see here in the Ice manual for more information).

You can checkout the demos from the demo/Ice/database directory for some examples on how to use Ice with an SQL database (Oracle in the demos).

Cheers,
    Benoit.
  • Thanks,Benoit.