Archived

This forum has been archived. Please start a new discussion on GitHub.

Client/Server authentication after Login

Hi,
i am new to ICE and network programming. I have been thinking about a sufficient way to authenticate client request at server side, after a login process. Do i have to send the username/password for each remote method call, or is there a built in method for client authentification in ICE, like a sessionId?
I have another general question. If i use the following slice code (only an example):
class Person {
	string getName();
}

interface Server {
	void logIn(Person user);
};
Is there a way to prevent, that a malicious client application passes a subclass of Person, that contains malicious code in the getName() method? In other words: is there a way to ensure, that the passed object is a specific implementation?

thanks, stefanjp

Comments

• I have found an answer to my first question (and much more useful information) in the Chat Demo. However i can't find an answer to my second question. Let me clarify my concern:

1. Everyone may connect to my server.
    2. My server has to call methods of objects, which were instantiated by his clients.
    (3. Client and Server are written in C++)

Question: Can I check, if the clients are using objects generated by class definitions distributed by myself?

I have been thinking of 2 possible solutions:
    1. Develope a Communication-Protocol + use only basic fundamental data type parameter for remote method calls. Disadvantage: huge maintenance effort, as i will have to expand the protocol constantly.
    2. Generating a checksum of an "original" object and compare it with the checksum of the objects received by my clients. I guess that won't work.

I have found recommandations on the web, which don't work for me, of are just :eek:
    1) Remote Objects should not be exposed to the World Wide Web. Expose Remote Objects if the server is accessible from trusted sources only