Archived

This forum has been archived. Please start a new discussion on GitHub.

Can a process be both a Client and Server?

Hello,
I'm new to Ice and trying to stumble my way through creating some two way communications between two processes. The solution I'm trying to create has a "server" and multiple "clients", but in terms of how I'm trying to use Ice, I'd both processes to operate as both Ice servers and clients, thereby allowing me to send data back and forth freely instead of having the clients have to constantly poll the server for new messages. Unfortunately I've come up against an issue I can't figure out, the answer is probably in the documentation somewhere, but I haven't come across it yet.

I initialize both the Client and Server programs with the Ice runtime, create the ObjectAdapters and add Ice Objects to them. The Client process creates a proxy for the Server and is able to call in just fine, passing in the address to the Server program to respond to. On the Server, I use the return address to create a proxy to call the Client, but when I attempt to do a checked cast to the appropriate type, the program hangs (I traced it to the "ice_isA" call). I assumed the Client was blocking until it's call was completed, so I tried using an async call which failed. I tried passing a proxy that was instantiated by the Client to the Server during my initial call, then using that proxy on the Server to call the Client, but that failed with the same result. Am I attempting something that shouldn't be done? Or should I be using Icebox? Below is the code from my test project. I'm using Ice 3.4.1 and Visual Studio 2010 on a Windows 7 machine.

Thanks very much for any advice, I'm really enjoying using Ice so far!
module TestModule
{
	sequence<string> TestStringSequence;

interface TestDataType
	{
		void setName(string name);
		string getName(); 
	};

interface StringCollectionDataType extends TestDataType
	{
		void setStrings(TestStringSequence testData);