Archived

This forum has been archived. Please start a new discussion on GitHub.

Interface Mapping

Hello,

I'm quite new at programming with ICE but I start to getting used to it. After creating some classes, map them as an interface in slice and override them at the server site (this all works well), I've got stuck...

Case:
I have a class: public class TesterClass: ITester with one function: 'Hello'
ITester is the interface for that function:
public interface ITester
{
MyVariable Hello(MyOtherVariable Hey)
}

I want to get this function and it's interface at the server side, so how does the slice code looks like and what do I have to do in the server to get this working...?

I work with Ice 3.4.1, my compiler is Visual Studio 2010 and my OS is Windows 7

Kind Regards

Comments

• bernard
    bernard Jupiter, FL
    Hello Jens,

Welcome to our forums!

With Ice, you should start with Slice definitions, and not with C++ or C# code that you then 'map' to Slice definitions. Many C++/C# etc types have no equivalent in Slice, whereas all Slice definitions can be translated to C++/C#/Java etc. constructs.

With your example, the issue how to represent the MyVariable and MyOtherVariable types in Slice, and you didn't provide much info :).

If these types are serializable C# types, and you don't care about language interoperability, you could tell Ice to marshal/unmarshal them as sequences of bytes:
    // Slice
    // See http://www.zeroc.com/doc/Ice-3.4.1-IceTouch/manual/Slice.5.18.html

["clr:serializable:SomeNamespace.MyVariable"]
    sequence<byte> MyVariable;

["clr:serializable:SomeNamespace.MyOtherVariable"]
    sequence<byte> MyOtherVariable;

interface ITester
    {
       MyVariable Hello(MyOtherVariable Hey);
    };

Best regards,
    Bernard
  • Hello

Well, I can define my own object types in Slice, that's not the problem and that's not really what I'm trying to ask...