Archived

This forum has been archived. Please start a new discussion on GitHub.

Best practices for implementing asynchronous bi-directional communications

I am currently working on an application for autonomous entity oversight and goal scheduling, which can be represented at the most simple level by the model below:

Attachment not found.

I am rather new to ICE, but have made my way through most of the training labs and read a good bit of the manual. I've been able to implement a skeleton of the model above by making the clients also behave as servers (setting up object adapters on them, so the main server can send data/invoke commands on them), but I am not sure about the best way of fleshing out the rest of the functionality (the networking components of it using ICE, not the actual logic to be employed)

What I would like to do is this:

-Give the controller five threads
-1: dedicated solely to performing computations and deciding what commands should be sent out to the entities, maintaining state machine and list of connected entities (logic thread)
-2: dedicated solely to sending data to the UI application asynchronously
-3: dedicated solely to receiving data from the UI application asynchronously
-4: dedicated solely to sending data to all entities asynchronously
-5: dedicated solely to receiving data from all entities asynchronously
-Give each entitity three threads (sending, receiving, and logic)
-Store received messages in queues for the logic threads to consume