Archived

This forum has been archived. Please start a new discussion on GitHub.

Limitations of Overloading operations

Hi there,

Howdy. I'm a newbie to ICE. I'd like to know how to overcome the limitations of overloading operations?

I'm implementing a VISITOR pattern and all the method names happen to have the same name. What are the suggested alternatives avaliable to me.

Thanks,
Venkat

Comments

• I'm not sure exactly what you are trying to do. For the visitor pattern, you normally don't need to overload operations. For example:
    interface VisitorBase {
        void visit();
    };

interface SomeType extends VisitorBase {
        // whatever operations you like; the
        // servant of SomeType implements
        // visit() for that type.
    };

interface SomeOtherType extends VisitorBase {
        // whatever operations you like; the
        // servant of SomeOtherType implements
        // visit() for that type.
    };

Slice does not allow you to overload operations. For example, the following is illegal:
    interface Foo {
        void op(int param);
        void op(string param); // Redefinition error
    };

But overloading really is only syntactic sugar -- you can achieve the same things as:
    interface Foo {
        void opInt(int param);
        void opString(string param);
    };

Cheers,

Michi.
  • Hi Michi,

Thanks for the quick response.

I know its only syntactic sugar but it makes it a little easier when the class hierarchy keeps growing and I need to call only one method on the visitor by passing the current instance.

There are 2 flavors:
    interface Shape {
    	void accept(ShapeVisitor visitor);
    }

class Circle implements Shape {
    	void accept(ShapeVisitor visitor) {
    		visitor.visit(this);
    	}
    }

class Square implements Shape {
    		visitor.visit(this);
    	}
    }

interface ShapeVisitor {
            void visit(Circle circle);
            void visit(Square square);
    }