Archived

This forum has been archived. Please start a new discussion on GitHub.

Eclipse Setup for Ice

Hi all,

I'm new to Eclipse, and I had a few teething issues to work out before I got Ice compiled and working. I was installing on Windows, but I think these comments apply to Linux as well.

Here is my quick and dirty Eclipse setup guide, which covers the issues I ran into.

1. Install ICE to your desired location.

2. Install the JDK (not the JRE) to your desired location (JRE does not have tools.jar, which Ant apparently needs).

3. Run Eclipse and add the installed JDK root folder (Windows->Preferences->Java->Installed JREs). Again, make sure this is a JDK folder not a JRE foler or tools.jar will not be found.

4. Go to Windows->Preferences->Java->Compiler and on the Compliances an Classfiles tab, set Compiler compliance level, Generated .class files compatability, and Source compatability all to 1.4. This is required or else the assert()s that Ice adds to the generated source code will not compile.

5. Create a new Java Project (File->New Project->Java Project). Click Next.

6. Give the new project a name, and then select "Create project at external location" and use the Browse button to locate the top level folder for the project.
For the Hello World demo, this would be something like C:\Ice-2.1.0\demoj\book\printer
For the file system demo, this would be something like C:\Ice-2.1.0\demoj\book\simple_filesystem
If you select the wrong directory (for example just C:\Ice-2.1.0\demoj), then the classpaths will not work and the Demo package will not be found.

7. Click Next in the New Project Wizard.

8. Under the Libraries tab, add db.jar and ice.jar using the Add External JARs button.

9. Click Finish to create the project.