Archived

This forum has been archived. Please start a new discussion on GitHub.

Documentation

Hello,

I'm a complete newbie to Ice and am having trouble making sense of Chapter 4 (The Slice Language) of Distributed Programming with Ice. When it comes to reading documentation, I've long since determined that "my brain doesn't work the way most of yours do;" as a result, I get hung up on literally dozens of "sticking points" in whatever I read -- ambiguities, seeming self-contradictions, etc. that most of you wouldn't even notice.

That makes reading / learning slow, painful, and infuriating; and unfortunately, I am also in somewhat of a hurry. By the time I am moved to "seek help," I'm too angry to do it here lest I offend, upset, and/or acquire a negative reputation, and yet I tend to need answers right away. Yes sir, it's a miserable experience all the way around.

Therefore -- can someone direct me to an appropriate place to discuss this material without offending a whole community? Perhaps one-on-one "offline" discussion with someone who a) knows this material very well, b) can explain it in minute and subtle detail, and c) has a huge amount of patience for someone who nitpicks everything to death?

Thanks in advance,

Chris the extremely candid

Comments

• xdm
    xdm La Coruña, Spain
    Ice Programming book

I don´t agree with you, I think that Ice Programming book is a good book an it´s easy to read and undertand. But i think that a base knowledge of object oriented programming is needed. in the other hand The forum is a well pace for concrete problems and there are a lot of threads in this forum with the most commom problems solved. Ice examples are very extensive a the newsleter explain other iteresting topics realted with Ice and Distributed systems.

I using ice from version 1.0 and i think that the learning curve is very plain
    What you don´t understand in chapter 4?

Wellcome to Ice
  • ChrisC wrote: