Archived

This forum has been archived. Please start a new discussion on GitHub.

Ip Addresses and basic conection questions

Hello, i'm very new to ICE an also to network applications, so i have a couple of questions and i hope you can help me (and maybe point me to the proper manual pages, since i haven't yet found the answer to these questions).

1) Ice::ObjectPrx base= ic->stringToProxy("SimplePrinter:default -p 10000");

What ip address is being addressed here? Is it only localhost port 10.000? How can i connect specifically to, say, 192.168.0.165???

I think "SimplePrinter" here is an abstraction for an endpoint (ip address?), is it right?

2) In the server, how can i get the ip address of the machine that is using a servant object?

3) I need to do a chat-like program that's going to work on a class C lan (PC addreses 192.168.0.x) How can i implement clients that auto-discover the servers on my lan?

(for example, on start-up clients offers me a list of servers that he found on the lan)

Thank you very much!

P.D.: signature added :)

Comments

• Please fill out your signature with the information specified in our forum [thread=1697]support policy[/thread].

Cheers
  • Signature addition done! :)
  • 1) Ice::ObjectPrx base= ic->stringToProxy("SimplePrinter:default -p 10000");

What ip address is being addressed here? Is it only localhost port 10.000? How can i connect specifically to, say, 192.168.0.165???

I think "SimplePrinter" here is an abstraction for an endpoint (ip address?), is it right?

"SimplePrinter" is the Ice object identity. "default" indicates that the 'default' protocol should be used. The host address can be specified using the -h option. e.g.:

"SimplePrinter:default -h 192.168.0.165 -p 10000"

would means something like "create a proxy for an object whose identity is 'SimplePrinter' which can be communicated with via the host with the IP address 192.168.0.165 using port 10000 and the default protocol for the communicator 'ic'".