Archived

This forum has been archived. Please start a new discussion on GitHub.

Question about AMD (C++)

Hi all!

As far as the AMI part is concerned, now everything of my project is working properly.

As you surely have noticed, I'm a newbie, and I've often found often some difficulties at the beginning when programming with ICE, doubts solved thanks to you (Mark, Benoit and Michi) and your colleagues.

Now I want to add an AMD part, and I've already read all the posts that deal with it (and the AMD part in the manual).

I need my server to serve multiple clients in the case they need to operate with long-running or blocking operations: for this simple example, just for learning purposes, the client run a sendQuery_async (through the AMI) and I want the server to send the response with the AMD.

I have not very clear what should be the implementation of the callback with the AMD in this simple example where I use a single function.
Is this class a sort of the AMI callback class, mirrored in the server?

Shall I leave the implementation of the AMI part or should I modify it?

Can they coexist with such a simple operation?

Thank in advance

Cheers

Alberto

Comments

• matthew
    matthew NL, Canada
    The use of AMD on the server side and AMI on the client are not dependent upon each other. If you need further assistance you need to ask more concrete questions on exactly what problem you are encountering.
  • Hi matthew, I beg your pardon.

This is my current Slice interface:
    interface AMISql {
           ["ami"] string sendQuery(string query);
           idempotent void shutdown();
    };

And this is the implementation of the AMI callback:
    class AMI_AMISql_sendQueryI : public Demo::AMI_AMISql_sendQuery
    {
    public:
    	virtual void ice_response(const std::string& result)
      {
    	  cout << endl << "Query result:" << result << endl <<endl;
      }

virtual void ice_exception(const Ice::Exception& ex)
      {
        try {