Archived

This forum has been archived. Please start a new discussion on GitHub.

unsubscribing from IceStorm

Hi,

I'm having trouble trying to reliably unsubscribe from IceStorm.
I'm using IceStorm in one-way mode, for Ice v3.1.1.

I have a class that subscribes an Object, and I'd like it to clean up after itself in its destructor. As far as I can tell there are two things it can do:

1) Call IceStorm's 'unsubscribe()', and
2) remove the Object from the adapter.

The first option is a little awkward, because it involves a remote call. If something temporarily goes wrong (eg with the network), it's difficult to recover. I could potentially have a separate thread which loops forever, trying to unsubscribe about-to-be-destructed classes, but that's a bit messy.

The second option doesn't work for me because I'm using IceStorm in one-way mode. So presumably IceStorm's call would raise an ObjectNotExist exception, but IceStorm never sees it (and therefore never unsubscribes the non-existent Object).

The result of neither option working is that my network usage slowly rises over the lifetime of my application. As I subscribe and (try to) unsubscribe Objects, the number of successful subscriptions becomes greater than the number of successful unsubscriptions. My application therefore receives a lot of useless data from IceStorm which is never read by any of my code.

I realise that a third option is to use two-way semantics, but I'd prefer to stick with one-way. Is there a fourth option?

Thanks very much for any help,

Alex

Comments

• xdm
    xdm La Coruña, Spain
    Hi Alex

from Ice-3.1.1.pdf
    42.3.7 Subscriber Errors
    If IceStorm encounters a failure while attempting to deliver a message to a
    subscriber, the subscriber is immediately unsubscribed from the topic on which
    the message was published.

Slow or unresponsive subscribers can also create problems. IceStorm attempts