Archived

This forum has been archived. Please start a new discussion on GitHub.

passing objects

I am new to ICE and have a question.

i am currently returning an object (not a proxy) from a java server to a c#client. On the client side, i want the methods and members of the object I just retrieved to be called locally to the client (non-rmi). So i did this with this slice code:

class JMSQueueIce {
string queuename;
string getName() throws Util::JMSExceptionIce;
void setName( string name ) throws Util::JMSExceptionIce;
};
JMSQueueIce lookup( string destinationName) throws Util::JMSExceptionIce;

I had my generated abstract class, extended it in on both sides (c# for client, java for server), and registered them with object factories.

The problem is that on the server side, i want to associate another object (a non-ice, java jms queue object) with the one i'm returning to the client - in other words, i want to store it on the server-side only.

So my question first is:
1. how do you recommend I do this?

2. If your answer is "pass a proxy to this queue object back and forth" in order to facilliate the server-side storage, then how do i ensure that the getName() and setName() methods will be invoked locally when called from the client, instead of remotely? (i.e. i want that variable queuename to be sent across the wire as well)

Comments

• You may find this post of interest.
    If your answer is "pass a proxy to this queue object back and forth" in order to facilliate the server-side storage, then how do i ensure that the getName() and setName() methods will be invoked locally when called from the client, instead of remotely? (i.e. i want that variable queuename to be sent across the wire as well)

If you invoke on a class instance via its Java reference, the call will be dispatched locally. If you invoke on a class instance via its proxy, the call will be dispatched remotely. So, you can choose the behavior you want.