Archived

This forum has been archived. Please start a new discussion on GitHub.

Peer to Peer problem

Hello, i am new to ICE and using Slice for my current C++ project under WindowsXP with Visual Studio 2003. The project has a peer to peer network architecture. The problem now is when the third peer joins the system just crashed ramdomly.

I also wrote up a simple test program and had the same problem. The protype code is like this:

while(true)
{
if(time > TIME_INTERVAL)
{
for(int i = 0; i < sizeofDataobject; ++i)
{
sendInt(dataObejct->getInt());
sendDouble(dataObejct->getDouble());
}
}
}

Two peers can communicate very well but when the third peer joins a windows crash dialog pops. It seems to me that the nested while-for loop caused some threading problem but not so sure. Please let me know if you need more information.

Thanks in advance.

Charles

Comments

• matthew
    matthew NL, Canada
    I'm afraid that this description doesn't give us much to go on. In order to help you the best thing would be to give us a small complete compilable test case that reproduces the issue.
  • Hey Matthew,

Thanks for your prompt reply, here is more details,

The Slice module file we created:

module osgart
    {
    module net
    {

sequence <double> DoubleSeq;

struct Matrix
    {
    DoubleSeq vals;
    };

class Contact
    {
    void receiveMatrix(Matrix m, int msgTypeID, int peerID);
    void receiveDouble(double d, int msgTypeID, int peerID);
    void receiveInt(int i, int msgTypeID, int peerID);
    void receiveString(string s, int msgTypeID, int peerID);
    void announce(Contact* c);
    };

};
    };

In the application we have CommunicationManager Class that init the number of contacts as such:

int argc = 0;
    char* argv[1] = {""};
    ic = Ice::initialize(argc, argv);

// Create and register contact
    ContactI* contact = new ContactI();
    ss << "tcp -p " << port << " -h " << host << ":udp -p " << port << " -h " << host;