Archived

This forum has been archived. Please start a new discussion on GitHub.

Documentation Bug and suggestion for C++ sequences

Hi ZeroC developers,

I'm relatively new to both this forum and to using ICE, but a seasoned programmer of almost 10 years in OOP languages and particularly Delphi/C++.

I was looking over another post here which deals with polymorphic sequences.

While thinking this over, I realised that the documented SLICE to C++ mappings for sequences couldn't possibly be correct.

Section 6.7.3 of the ICE user manual states:
Here is the definition of our FruitPlatter sequence from Section 4.9.3 once more:
sequence<Fruit> FruitPlatter;

The Slice compiler generates the following C++ definition for the FruitPlatter sequence:

typedef std::vector<Fruit> FruitPlatter;

Now, if Fruit is a SLICE class with at least one method, because slice2cpp translates SLICE class methods to pure virtual methods in C++. If you instantiate the template, it will generate fun expressions like "sizeof(Fruit)" in it's memory allocation code which won't compile because Fruit is abstract.

Anyhow, I ran slice2cpp (as shipped in ICE version 3.2.1) to see what typedef it actually created.

The typedef it actually generates is (after performing typedef substitution):
"typedef std::vector<IceInternal::Handle<Fruit> > FruitPlatter"

IceInternal::Handle is by the look of things a reference-counted smart pointer class, and like most smart pointer classes the * and -> operators are defined to return references and pointers.

Can I suggest the documentation be modified to explain how sequences are actually mapped to C++?

Anyhow, that typedef suggests that polymorphic sequences should work, though the syntax will be different to that in Java/C#. The elements of C++ sequences are pointers while in Java/C# the elements are effectively references. That means in Java/C# you access members with ".", and with "->" in C++.