Archived

This forum has been archived. Please start a new discussion on GitHub.

slice2xml or SliceScript

I'm looking for a way to auto-generate code based on Slice definitions. In our project we currently have about 50 Slice interfaces with associated data types. We also have a few utility libraries which operate on each interface. Examples:
- implementation: "standard" implementations of Slice interfaces
- logging: subscribe to each interface and store the received data type
- debugging: we have a tool which allows to connect to an object and "probe" each method.
- display: a library of toString() functions for each custom data type.

This type of code tends to be very repetitive (boring). Constant changes in the interfaces lead to a sizable workload. This begs for some soft of scriptable code generation based on Slice definitions. There're probably different way of doing it -- I am not a computer scientist. :)

E.g. would it be possible to define an XML descriptor for Slice? A slice2xml parser could convert .ice files to XML. That would be much easier for me to parse and use the contents to do what I want (compared to .ice files themselves). Of course, it would be even better if an XML parser (C++ or python or whatever) was included. :)

cheers, alex

Comments

• matthew
    matthew NL, Canada
    Why do you think it would be easier to parse & act on the contents of an XML file rather implementing a generator based on the existing slice generators? The generator itself is an implementation of the visitor pattern which is, after all, how any SAX based XML parser works (only with more slice specific context based callbacks).
  • I've done a couple of XML parsers before and it wasn't a big deal. In particular, I recently adapted the IceGrid descriptor parser to my needs and it was a pleasure to work with.