Archived

This forum has been archived. Please start a new discussion on GitHub.

About Ice.RetryIntervals and client information

Hi all!
I am new in ICE and want to transport files with it.
I set Ice.RetryIntervals=0 10 20, expecting the client will retry three times when the server is down. But in fact when the server was down, the client retried unlimitedly. Can you tell me what's the matter?
On the other hand, I want to know whether the server can get the client's information such as IP when it is connected except the client provides it as the parameter of call.
Thank you very much!

Comments

• But I need help! What I want is simple:
    1)When the client can't connect to the server because of any reason, for example, the network is broken, the server isn't running, the server shutdown suddenly, etc., the client can retry certain times and then stop connecting and throw an exception.
    2)When the client run a RPC, the server can get the client's information such as IP and port, given that the client dosen't provide it explicitly.
    Anyone can tell me what I should do? Thanks a lot!
  • The first thing to try is to enable Ice.Trace.Retry=2 and Ice.Trace.Network=2for both client and server. This will allow you to see connection establishment and closure, and to follow the rety behavior. I suspect that the server might accept the connection but then close (orderly) for some reason.

Also, what version/language are you using?

Cheers,

Michi.
  • Thanks michi!
    I use Ice-3.2.1/C++ and my code is like this:

//TransferFile.ice
    module File
    {
    sequence<byte> byteSeq;

interface TransFile
    {
    void SaveFile(byteSeq buf, int len, string filename);
    };
    };

//Client.cpp
    #include <Ice/Ice.h>
    #include <fstream>
    #include "TransFile.h"

using namespace std;
    using namespace File;

const int SIZE = 100;

int main(int argc, char *argv[])
    {

if (argc != 2)
    {
    printf("Usage: %s Filename\n", argv[0]);
    return 1;
    }