Archived

This forum has been archived. Please start a new discussion on GitHub.

help with slice2java

Hi all,

I 'm new to slcie2java. Can anyone help me with steps to create an projectIce.jar.?

Thanks

Comments

• matthew
    matthew NL, Canada
    This doesn't sound like an Ice specific problem, it sounds more like you don't know how to create a jar file... could be a little more specific?
  • slice2java

Hi,

I am new to Slice2Java. I need to connect to an ice file from java. For that what are the steps, I need to follow.

Thanks
  • matthew
    matthew NL, Canada
    What do you mean connect to an ice file from Java? If you want a complete example, take a look at any of the Ice demos. The simplest is demo/Ice/minimal.
  • slice2java

The examples under demo/ice/minimal tell about the cpp files, I m looking for java examples. Can you please tell me all the steps to convert an .ice file to java?.
  • dwayne
    dwayne St. John's, Newfoundland
    The java demos can be found in multiple places:

* In the Ice 3.3 source distribution they can be found in the java/demo subdirectory.
    * In the Windows binary installers they are in the demoj subdirectory.
    * In the demo distribution for Unix they are also found in the demoj subdirectory.

Each of these distributions also contain README/INSTALL files that include instructions for building and running the demos.
  • slice2java

If I convert Ice file into java file. Do I have to write a client and server? Also, do I have to write build.xml file or slice2java automatically generates build.xml file to run the Ice file. Please correct me . I'm using eclipse as IDE.

Thanks
  • matthew
    matthew NL, Canada