Archived

This forum has been archived. Please start a new discussion on GitHub.

Building Ice-3.3.0 on CentOS 4.6

I'm new to Ice.

I have a fresh install of CentOS 4.6 (i386) with nptl-devel installed.

First, I downloaded the Ice-3.3.0 RHEL4 RPMs, installed them, and attempted to create the HelloWorld application described in the docs. I ran into some trouble, so I decided to try building Ice on my system, to see if that would work. Unfortunately, it does not.

I downloaded Ice-3.3.0.tar.gz, extracted it, changed into the Ice-3.3.0 directory, and typed "make".

It builds successfully for a while, then reaches this point:

make[3]: Entering directory `/home/stwhit/Ice-3.3.0/cpp/src/slice2cpp'
c++ -c -I. -I../../include -ftemplate-depth-128 -Wall -D_REENTRANT -I/usr/include/nptl -fPIC -g Gen.cpp
c++ -c -I. -I../../include -ftemplate-depth-128 -Wall -D_REENTRANT -I/usr/include/nptl -fPIC -g Main.cpp
rm -f ../../bin/slice2cpp
c++ -Wl,--enable-new-dtags -Wl,-rpath,/opt/Ice-3.3/lib -ftemplate-depth-128 -Wall -D_REENTRANT -I/usr/include/nptl -fPIC -g -L../../lib -o ../../bin/slice2cpp Gen.o Main.o -lSlice -lIceUtil -L/usr/lib/nptl -lpthread -lrt
/usr/bin/ld: cannot find /lib/tls/i486/libpthread.so.0
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make[3]: *** [../../bin/slice2cpp] Error 1
make[3]: Leaving directory `/home/stwhit/Ice-3.3.0/cpp/src/slice2cpp'
make[2]: *** [all] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/stwhit/Ice-3.3.0/cpp/src'
make[1]: *** [all] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/stwhit/Ice-3.3.0/cpp'
make: *** [all] Error 1

Any ideas why I'm receiving this error? Thanks in advance.

Comments

• benoit
    benoit Rennes, France
    Hi Stuart,

You need to install the nptl-devel package on CentOS 4.6 as mentioned in the INSTALL.LINUX file from you Ice source distribution.

Cheers,
    Benoit.
  • Hi Benoit,

Thanks for the response. Notice in my original post I stated I have nptl-devel installed.