Archived

This forum has been archived. Please start a new discussion on GitHub.

Need help with several adapters in one application

Hello,

I am newby with Ice - this is my first try with it, so my question may be stupid.

I need help with having several adapters working inside one application.
I am using Visual Studio 2008, C# 3.5 and Ice 3.3.0.
I am building a system which consists of two main elements: server and client. Client is responsible of sending some commands to the server (something like start an external app, stop an external app, etc). The server is resonsible of retrieving commands from the client, process them and send the server state to the client. I am using Ice\bidir project as an example.

Everything is working fine until I have only one instance of the adapter inside my client app. But when I add one more adapter (which is working with another server) I have problems. Both adapters are connecting to one server instead of connecting to corresponsing server. Servers are running on different machines, each adapter has it's own config file. Each adapter is running in it's own thread started by the application.

Can someone help me with this?
Thanks

Comments

• matthew
    matthew NL, Canada
    renkin wrote: »
    ... send the server state to the client. I am using Ice\bidir project as an example.

Do you need to use bidirectional communications for a specific reason?
    ..., each adapter has it's own config file. Each adapter is running in it's own thread started by the application.

You haven't actually said what is going wrong. Without getting specific it is very hard to help :)

I don't understand what you mean by these last two points. Why do you run the adapter in a separate thread? How do you give each adapter its own configuration file? Furthermore, why are you creating two adapters? It is NOT necessary to create more than one adapter in the client to connect with more than one server.