Archived

This forum has been archived. Please start a new discussion on GitHub.

Ice and Object Persistence

Hi, I'm really new to ICE and have some problems understanding some things.

Anyway, here's the scenario:

I have a little application which stores books and authors in an object oriented database. Now, I already have the model, and the beans (Author.java and Book.java) This works well from a pure java approach. Nonetheless I want to be able to use these objects with a c++ program too. Here's where ICE comes into the game.

Now, Author and Book don't really have anything special to them. Their attributes are strings and booleans. All of them can be correctly mapped to c++. So my questions are:

- What's the best approach on this case?
- Should I generate interfaces or classes or tie classes or what?
- The database exists, so I can't create new Objects, I must use the ones I already have... Is that possible?
- How would my ICE file would look like?
- How can I use a hypothetical AuthorPrx to manage the existing Author?
- Is this possible?

Comments

• matthew
    matthew NL, Canada
    What you are asking is entirely possible, yes :) However, your questions seem to be a bit random in that they are mixing implementation questions (do I use tie classes?) with design questions (what should the slice look like?).

Without knowing exactly what things you don't understand, its very hard to provide advice. What you should do is first model your database in Slice, and then next provide an implementation of that. If you get stuck with a specific question, please ask here!
  • I'll try to be more specific tomorrow...

But part of the problem is that the database is already in use, there's already a model and I have to adapt slice to it.

Right now I'm a little bit stuck as of how should I interact with the database. See, normally I would have something like:
    public class Author

public String getName()...
    public void setName()...