Archived

This forum has been archived. Please start a new discussion on GitHub.

IceGrid + IceBox + IceStorm - service as a publisher/subscriber

Hi!
I'm new to Ice so I run through a couple of tutorials and basically now I want to create a sample app. Services will be replicated and available under some name, lets say "Hello". Now the client connects to one of the instances via locator and name "Hello" and sends some request. This "query" is then replicated to the rest of the instances (so the state of all instances will be similiar). I came up with this idea:
* Service runs under IceBox
* Service registers adapter, fetches proxy and subscribes it to a topic
* after servant receives query from the client it sends some message to the specified topic.

However several problems occur. First - service needs to be available under well known name and when I try to register sever instances of the same service to a given topic - exception is thrown (AlreadyRegistered).

Second - when the service stops (stop() method) I try to deregister subscriber from the topic but the IceStorm service is down (or so assume cause - Ice.NoEndpointException proxy = "IceStorm/topic.HelloService-topic -t @ IceStorm-1.IceStorm.IceStorm.TopicManager")

Third - I assume there will be problems with service start order - what if IceStorm will start later than HelloService etc).

Comments

• matthew
    matthew NL, Canada
    However several problems occur. First - service needs to be available under well known name and when I try to register sever instances of the same service to a given topic - exception is thrown (AlreadyRegistered).

You cannot register the same name twice. It sounds like what you want is to setup a replicated service. You can find out more information on service replication in the Ice manual. You might also want to look at cpp/demo/IceGrid/replication, and perhaps Issue 21 of Connections (http://www.zeroc.com/newsletter/issue21.pdf).