Archived

This forum has been archived. Please start a new discussion on GitHub.

IceStorm: subscriber: object adapter requires configuration

I'm very new to Ice. This is probably a very simple question to answer.

I'm trying out IceStorm pub/sub on my own. I think Pub and icebox are running fine. However, when I start running subscriber I get the following:

Ice::InitializationException: initialization exception: object adapter 'xxx.Subscriber' requires configuration.

I'm merely following the Ice documentation (page 1711) almost exactly the same...what went wrong?

Here's my code snippet, the last line is throwing an exception:
int main()
{
  try
  {
    // Establish a communicator
    Ice::CommunicatorPtr communicator = Ice::initialize();
    Ice::ObjectPrx       obj          = communicator->stringToProxy("DIceStorm/TopicManager:default -p 9999");

// Obtain Topic Manager Proxy
    IceStorm::TopicManagerPrx manager = IceStorm::TopicManagerPrx::checkedCast(obj);
    if(!manager)
    {
      throw std::exception("!manager");
    }
    // Subscribe to SasData topic
    IceStorm::TopicPrx topic = manager->retrieve("SasData");

// Create an object adapter to host the SasData servant
    Ice::ObjectAdapterPtr adapter = communicator->createObjectAdapter("SasData.Subscriber");

I also noticed in Ice C++ demo that subscribers seem to load the config.sub, what's the easy way to load such file without inheriting from Ice::Application? Is that even necessary?

Comments

• mes
    mes California
    Hi,

Welcome to the forum!

You're getting the exception because you're creating an object adapter via the createObjectAdapter operation, and this operation expects you to define at a minimum the configuration property that supplies the object adapter's endpoints. In your example, you would need to define this property:

SasData.Subscriber.Endpoints=tcp