Archived

This forum has been archived. Please start a new discussion on GitHub.

Python: Import Problem

Hey there,

I'm fairly new to both Python and Ice, but it's what my employers use for their services (and I can understand why, having read a vast majority of the manual it's a pretty useful tool) and my supervisor wants me to code in Python as it's what the group that'll be using the services I'm working on uses or something to that effect. All I know for sure is he thinks python would be best for a web application in line with the Ice services up and running.

However, I seem to be having problem with my Python in the import way. At first it wasn't finding Ice, simple enough, needed to set the path toward the location of the Python. I, however, think I might have done this wrong as it also is giving me a problem with IcePy. I was wondering if there was any help on this. I've looked around, but most seem to be slightly different to my problem (as I tried those suggestions and it did nothing, or maybe I just missed something).

For reference: I do have Visual Studios 2005 installed on my work computer and the locations of it, Ice, and Python are here

C:\Python26
C:\Program Files\ZeroC\Ice-3.4.1
C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 8

For the error:

before I tried changing the path
import Ice
Traceback <most recent call last):
    File "<stdin>", line 1, in <module>
ImportError: No module named Ice

after I tried changing the path
import Ice
Traceback <most recent call last):
    File "<stdin>", line 1, in <module>
    File "C:\Program Files\ZeroC\Ice-3.4.1\Python\Ice.py", line 47, in <module>
        import IcePy
ImportError: DLL load failed: The specified module could not be found.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, and I'm sure I'll have other questions as I move along in my project, but I'll be sure to keep searching for the answer before I bother you with more questions. Thanks :)

Comments

• mes
    mes California
    Hi Andrew,