Archived

This forum has been archived. Please start a new discussion on GitHub.

Question for send large data

my slice file definition
/** A sequence of bytes. **/
sequence<byte> ByteSeq;

["amd"]
interface DataTransfer {
string send(int offset, ByteSeq bytes);
};
In the Client, I have a large XML (maybe 10MB); I want send the XML to Server.
if I use synchronous call send, my client must block. if I use asynchronous call send, when the server shutdown, myclient continue to send that it doesn't know the server shutdown. And, if the server get the XML clips, and the server how can ensure the integrity of the large XML.
use synchronous or use asynchronous ?
How can I do with the large data?
somebody has the send large data demo ? I'm a java programmer, I want java demo, thanks very much.

Comments

• xdm
    xdm La Coruña, Spain
    myclient continue to send that it doesn't know the server shutdown

If i not wrong you will receive an exception in the AMI callback.
    if the server get the XML clips, and the server how can ensure the integrity of the large XML.

I think the correct is to compute a hash (SHA1) of the total contents in the client and send it first to the server, once the server ends receiving data it compute the hash (SHA1) and it should match.
    /** A sequence of bytes. **/
    sequence<byte> ByteSeq;

interface Writer
    {
      string send(int offset, ByteSeq bytes);
    };

interface DataTransfer {
      Writer* createWriter(string path, // Where to write the file
                           string hash, // The cliente computed hash
                           long length); // How much bytes length
    };

I will do something like the above, so the program first call createWriter, and pass in the path, hash and length of the file, the server then create a writer to write that file, and returns a Writer proxy, as the Writer knows the hash and length, is easy for it to know if the transfer is complete and compute the data integrity.