Archived

This forum has been archived. Please start a new discussion on GitHub.

Invalid proxy

Hi,

I am a newbie to ICE but i am very fascinated by your technology and i want to learn more. I am using ICE for a very important project at my company. The server objects are built with C++ and reside on a remote machine in a different campus from where my client (C#) is located. I can telnet to the machine without any issues. but when i try to connect with my client by passing in the IP address and the port in my proxy, i get Invalid proxy message. I also tried paying with the session demo by running the session server on the actual server and tried communicating to it by executing the client on my machine and i get the similar message. I also changed the config.client file by including the IP/hpst address with -h. And i also understand that "invalid proxy" is an exception trhown by the client. But what i an confused is with is why i can connect via telnet and not with my client. I am not a network guy, so i appreciate any help here.

Regards and thank you in advance for your help,
Kalyan

Comments

• mes
    mes California
    Welcome to the forum.

In order to help you, we need to know more details about your problem. For example, please provide the exact exception or error message you are receiving. It would also be helpful for us to see the proxy string that your client is attempting to use. Finally, please tell us which version of Ice and which operating system(s) you are using.

Take care,
    Mark
  • Same here.

Hi,

I'm facing the same problem.

The code I'm using is copied verbatim from the tutorial.
    Log.Write(LogLevel.Debug, "Creating Proxy");
    Ice.ObjectPrx obj = ic.stringToProxy(stringToProxy);
    ServiceProxy = CCMServicePrxHelper.checkedCast(obj);
    if (null == ServiceProxy)
        throw new ApplicationException("Invalid Proxy");

The value of stringToProxy is "MyServiceName:tcp -h my.hostname -p 10000"