Archived

This forum has been archived. Please start a new discussion on GitHub.

Queueing and QOS for calls

I am still learning ICE so please excuse this question if it is stupid but i have been unable to find an answer i the manual myself.

In my case i am looking to have a number of servers running over a number of boxes. The users will connect in via many different clients that i have no control over and some users requests are more important than others.

The issues i have not been able to work out are
1. How to prevent a single user from flooding the system so other users requests can't get processed. Ideally it would be good to limit it to one request per user at a time.
2. Is there a way to put some users requests before others in the queue of requests to process first? Eg members get processed before non members? I thought having separate servers would allow this but not as ideal as i can get maximum utilization out of all the servers then.
3. Is there a way to limit the number of requests a server will process at once? In my case my system will be hitting local databases (mysql) and i generally find that over 20 ish concurrent requests star to degrade performance more than increase throughput.
4 Is it possible to limit the number of requests per period of time say 1 request per 3 seconds for a particular group of users or a particular user. (not sure if user groups are supported or just users)

On other thing i should note is users would be able to login multiple times with different clients and limiting them over all clients would be great but i suspect it would not be possible.

Regards,

Chris

Comments

• benoit
    benoit Rennes, France
    Hi Chris,
    I am still learning ICE so please excuse this question if it is stupid but i have been unable to find an answer i the manual myself.