Archived

This forum has been archived. Please start a new discussion on GitHub.

server discovery

I'm new to the Ice world and I'm trying to understand whether Ice can help me in the following scenario:

I have a number of Ice based process, all equal (i.e.: all run the same code) which are randomly scattered on some servers on the same LAN. You can imagine a number of database servers each providing its own set of data. Each process has its own identification name.

I'd like a client to be able to connect to any of the process by specifying its name independently on the IP address of the node where the server is running. Because I'd like to be able to start more than one process on a single workstation, even the IP port must be dinamically assigned to avoid conflict.

In a world without Ice I would provide the server process with a thread waiting for broadcasts and design a small protocol to allow a client to broadcast a discovery request end receive a reply from the selected server with connection information. Yes, this is very like to ARP ;-)

Does the Ice framework provide feature to support the above?

Many thanks for any reply.

Luca

Comments

• mes
    mes California
    Hi Luca,

There are several ways you could do this with Ice.

First, you could use multicast. This would involve creating an object adapter with a multicast UDP endpoint on which all servers listen for "server discovery" broadcasts.

The second approach would use IceGrid. You may not need all of the capabilities that IceGrid provides, such as the ability to launch servers automatically. However, IceGrid also includes a lookup mechanism for locating well-known objects using only their identities. Each of your clients and servers must be statically configured with the address of the IceGrid "locator", but no other static addressing information is required.