Archived

This forum has been archived. Please start a new discussion on GitHub.

IceStorm Subscriber Android

Hi Guys,

Has anyone successfully implemented an IceStorm Subscriber on Android??

I have a Ice Publisher publishing images from a camera on a raspberry pi. I want to write a subscriber which can use these images and display on a tablet.

Any help or suggestion would be much appreciated!

I am new to the Android platform and more confortable in C++ than Java.

Also has anyone managed to use the qt extension called "necessitas" along with Ice for android??

Regards,

Dr. Suraj Nair

Comments

• mes
    mes California
    Hi,

One potential problem in creating an IceStorm subscriber for Android is the restriction on incoming network connections that may be imposed by your device or network provider. IceStorm needs the ability to establish its own connection to each subscriber, and that may not be feasible on a mobile device.

A workaround is to use Glacier2 as your front-end for the IceStorm service. The Android client would establish a bidirectional connection with Glacier2, and Glacier2 would handle the connection to IceStorm.

Regards,
    Mark
  • Hi Mark,

Thanks for the info.

I have a few questions though bit first let me describe my setup to u.

I am working on a medical robotic device and I have a controller running on a raspberry pi. This kernel is debian with a real time patch. IceE is installed on it over which we develop the application.

One application is to grab videos from a surgical microscope and publish it using ice.

Now I wang to setup different possibilities to use these published inages. One was is on an android tablet. For which this is what I have done:

1. Compiled IceE for android ndk so that I can use c++

2. Using qt necessitas tool to develop