Archived

This forum has been archived. Please start a new discussion on GitHub.

IceMX question on GroupBy

Hi,

I started playing with metrics and can't make sense of the following behavior:

Grid configuration Configuration:
<property name="IceMX.Metrics.GroupByOperation.GroupBy" value="operation"/>
<property name="IceMX.Metrics.GroupByOperation.Disabled" value="0"/>

This gives me two tables: Operation dispatch and Invocations. Invocations count up like expected, but operation dispatch metrics reset every few seconds (current is always 0 and total resets).

If I use
<property name="IceMX.Metrics.GroupByParent.GroupBy" value="parent"/>

the per adapter statistics for Operation Dispatch count up as expected.

Is this intentional, so that the data can be mapped over time for graphing it? And if so, what are the exact rules - I couldn't find anything stating this explicitly in the documentation.

Cheers,
Michael

p.s. - Are there any known bugs in metrics at this point (I experienced some strange behavior like disabled counters getting enables) and are there any known problems/limitations when using metrics with encapsulation version 1.0?

Comments

• xdm
    xdm La Coruña, Spain
    Hi Michael,

The operation dispatch should count up as does the invocation, i have been trying to reproduce the behavior you mention using the IceGrid simple demo and IceGrid Admin to watch the metrics, but was unable.
    (I experienced some strange behavior like disabled counters getting enables)

We don't have any open bugs that could explain this.
    Is this intentional, so that the data can be mapped over time for graphing it?
    No, to map data overtime we use the timestamp out parameter of getMetricsView

Will be helpful if you can reproduce the issue using any of Ice demos, so we can investigate it further.

Cheers,
    Jose
  • Facepalm

Hi xdm,