Archived

This forum has been archived. Please start a new discussion on GitHub.

IceStorm publisher and subscriber reside in different networks

I'm new to IceStorm. Using IceStorm, I was able to make the publisher and subscriber work when they are both part of the same network.

But I encounter problem when the publisher resides in the network behind a global static IP, while the subscriber resides in the network behind another global static IP. Port forwarding was properly done for both networks. I'm able to get the TopicManagerPrx and retrieve the TopicPrx, but cannot get both the publisher and subscriber from the TopicPrx. The error message is as follows:

"A connection attempt failed because the connected party did not properly respond after
a period of time, or established connection failed because connected host has failed to respond"

I list the configurations for Icebox&IceStorm, publisher and subscriber in a scenario where Icebox&IceStorm and subscriber run on the same host in network A (with global static IP 183.122.43.74), while publisher runs on a host in network B.

In config.icebox

IceBox.ServiceManager.Endpoints=tcp -p 9998 -h 192.168.0.4

In config.service

IceStorm.TopicManager.Endpoints=tcp -p 10000 -h 192.168.0.4
IceStorm.Publish.Endpoints=tcp -h 192.168.0.4 -p 10001

In config.sub

IceStorm.TopicManager.Endpoints=tcp -p 10000 -h 192.168.0.4
IceStorm.Publish.Endpoints=tcp -h 192.168.0.4 -p 10001

In config.pub

TopicManager.Proxy=DemoIceStorm/TopicManager:tcp -p 10000 -h 183.122.43.74

My questions are:

1. Can IceStorm work for the case where publisher and subscriber reside in different networks?

2. Are there any other configurations or settings needed for IceStorm to work in different networks?

Any help will be greatly appreciated!

Comments

• benoit
    benoit Rennes, France
    Hi,