Archived

This forum has been archived. Please start a new discussion on GitHub.

Without glacier,how the server side push some active message to the client side?

I am new to ICE,what I would like to know is:

1.Without glacier,how the server side actively push some message to the client side?
The client side of course do not use poll or request.
In slice,like:

["amd"] void pushSomeInfo(struct Info);

2.It is easier bug-prone using 3.4 new AMI method than the old style.Even though
using type-safe method,the logic codes become more complicated,requiring the
developers passing the right address of the successful method and/or failed method.

Actually,I would like to know an approach:
Using the old style,all operations share just one default failed method,dealing with
some unsatisfied condition and prompting to the user for example.I do not expect
in every cde_exception method adds some method named handle_exceptions,which
is quite boring,but use slice to auto generate it,and how could I do that ?

Thank you !

Comments

• xdm
    xdm La Coruña, Spain
    1.Without glacier,how the server side actively push some message to the client side?
    The client side of course do not use poll or request.
    In slice,like:

["amd"] void pushSomeInfo(struct Info);

See Bidirectional Connections - Ice 3.5 - ZeroC

The demo Ice/bidir included in Ice distribution shows how to use bidirectional connections.
    2.It is easier bug-prone using 3.4 new AMI method than the old style.Even though
    using type-safe method,the logic codes become more complicated,requiring the
    developers passing the right address of the successful method and/or failed method.

Actually,I would like to know an approach:
    Using the old style,all operations share just one default failed method,dealing with
    some unsatisfied condition and prompting to the user for example.I do not expect
    in every cde_exception method adds some method named handle_exceptions,which