Archived

This forum has been archived. Please start a new discussion on GitHub.

Question regarding a performance issue

Alexandre
Alexandre Lyon, France
edited March 2019 in Help Center

Dear community, Ice devs,

First I'd like to thank you for the amazing software. I've been working with Ice for 6 months now and I'm very happy that it fits my needs so well.

I've got a performance issue that I can't seem to figure out. Both of the following attached slices are supposed to hold the same amount of data. I'm using both of them to send a 5 mbyte array of bytes in my test app.

I can't understand why the slow ice file is a LOT slower, like a 100 times slower that the first one. I would have expected it to be a bit slower... but 100x not at all.

Is anyone able to help me understand the issue: is it the client or the server that is slowing everything down? or maybe both? is it a known bug? or did I maybe do something wrong?

Is it maybe the structure encapsulation overhead that's artificially increasing the bandwidth? In this case, how can I send a huge amount of nested structures without casting all of that to a raw buffer?

Hope someone can help, it'd be a shame to pass data as raw byte arrays instead of proper structs.

Regards,
Alex

Tagged:

Comments

• benoit
    benoit Rennes, France

Hi,

First thing to check is to ensure you're building your application with compiler optimization enabled :smile:.

Otherwise, in the fast case, the encoding/decoding can just use a memcpy system call to marshal/un-marshal the byte array. In the slow case, the generated code has to loop on each element and call a function to encode/decode the struct. That's the main difference between the two I can think of.

You could try to write a small test that does a similar copy for a 5MB data or byte array and see if you can observe the same raw performance difference.

Is the performance difference between the two significant when passing the data over the wire?

Cheers,
    Benoit.